Wood Group has combined with Amec Foster Wheeler to form a new global leader in the delivery of project, engineering and technical services to energy and industrial markets. To find out more about Wood visit our new website at www.woodplc.com

Departed directors

Kent Masters

Kent was the Chief Executive Officer of Foster Wheeler AG from 2011 until the completion of the acquisition by AMEC in November 2014. Prior to joining Foster Wheeler, he served as a member of the Executive Board of Linde AG, a world leading gases and engineering company, from 2006 to 2011. At Linde, Kent had responsibility for the Americas, Africa, the South Pacific, the global business unit Healthcare, and the business area Merchant and Packaged Gases. He was employed by BOC Group plc from 1984 until the acquisition of BOC by Linde in 2006. Kent served in roles of increasing responsibility at BOC, including as Chief Executive, Industrial and Special Products, from 2005 to 2006, and as President, Process Gas Solutions-Americas from 2002 to 2005. He also served on the board of directors of BOC from 2005 to 2006.

Kent served as the non-executive chairman of African Oxygen Limited from 2005 to 2011. Kent joined the board of Albemarle in January 2015 following its acquisition of Rockwood Holdings, Inc. where he had served as a director since 2007. Kent is a member of the compensation committee at Albemarle and served on the audit and compensation committees at Rockwood.

Term of office
Kent was appointed a non-executive director on 13 February 2015 for an initial term of three years, which will end at the 2018 AGM.

Neil Carson

Neil was Chief Executive of Johnson Matthey Plc, the FTSE 100 speciality chemical company, from 2004 to June 2014 and stepped down as a member of the board in September 2014. He joined the company in 1980 after completing an engineering degree and held a number of senior management positions in both the UK and the US, including Managing Director of Catalysts & Chemicals from 1999 to 2004 and Division Director of Catalytic Systems from 1997 to 1999.

In July 2014, Neil became a non-executive director of PayPoint plc, where he also serves as chairman of the remuneration committee and senior independent director. In May 2015, Neil joined the board of TT Electronics plc as Chairman. He is currently Honorary President of the Society for Chemical Industry (SCI) and co-chair of the Chemistry Growth Partnership, which is working with the government to stimulate growth in the industry in the United Kingdom. In June 2016, Neil was awarded an OBE for services to the Chemical Industry in the Queen's Birthday Honours.

Neil was previously a founding member of the Prince of Wales’ Corporate Leaders Group on Climate Change. Neil received an engineering degree from Lanchester Polytechnic (now Coventry University) and has been awarded an Honorary Doctor of Business Administration from Anglia Ruskin University.

Term of office
Neil was appointed a non-executive director on 31 August 2010. His term of office was extended in February 2014 for a second three-year term to the date of the 2017 AGM. Neil became the Senior Independent Director on 14 May 2015. Neil retired from the Board on 31 December 2016.

Samir Brikho
Prior to joining Amec Foster Wheeler, Samir was a member of the group executive committee of ABB Ltd., Switzerland, Head of the Power Systems Division and Chairman of ABB Lummus Global, ABB’s international projects and services business. Samir holds an engineering degree, a Master of Science in Thermal Technology from the Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm, Sweden, and completed the YMP Program at INSEAD in France in 1991. In 2000 he also completed a senior executive programme in Stanford, US and in 2015 he was awarded an honorary doctorate from Cranfield University. 

Term of office: 
Samir was appointed Chief Executive on 1 October 2006 and stepped down on 18 January 2016.

Simon Thompson
Simon Thompson, Non-executive Director and Senior Independent Director of the Company retired from the Board at the close of the annual general meeting held on 14 May 2015, having served two three-year terms as a Director.